Hello world!

1st attempt

1st attempt

I baked bread yesterday! 

That doesn’t really sound that remarkable except that I have a fear of cooking with yeast.  I’m a baker of all things except yeast bread.  I’d stuck my toe in the water with the “No Knead Bread” from Jim Lahey (Sullivan Street Bakery / Co.) when it ran in the  New York Times.  However, now I have a Dutch oven (for proper steaming) and saw this new recipe in Eating Well: Seeded Multigrain Boule.  Yum!

I’m going to continue working on it – I think it was a little dense and the airpockets weren’t big enough.   Call me fussy. However, we’ve had great toast, and I can live on (good) toast some days. 

Not every day.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent info about Hudson, I like your pictures of your food. Do you sell your bread? and what about salads? any pictures?
    Dr. Friedman

    Reply

  2. Posted by nadav on March 9, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I would like to taste the gin!
    can you ship it ?
    Good luck!!!
    nadav

    Reply

  3. your blog has made me hungry and thirsty, damn you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

