um, the mesclun lettuce didn’t work…

mesclun 1Or, it didn’t work quite the way I intended.  I have pots of baby mesclun and micro greens growing on my front porch in an effort to not feed the woodchuck (who eats everything on the back porch). Before I had a single green in my salad however, they had all bolted/bloomed, and now I have dying flowers on my porch, not mesclun greens.

I’ll talk about the woodchuck another day.

mesclun 2

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hanna on June 15, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Oh no! That’s sort of what happened to my spinach.

    I have lots of lettuce if you want some – too much for me to eat!

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on June 15, 2009 at 6:05 pm

      Have you ever tried grilled salad? I really recommend it – simply slice a head of lettuce through the root (keep the root to hold it all together), brush cut edges very lightly with olive oil and grill until charred. Chop and serve. It’s also a great way to freak people out (what? grilled lettuce???).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

