beets – a first attempt

I used to hate them.  Silly me.

lovely beet stems

lovely beet stems

We bought some of the first beets of the season – I love when we get past the kale stage at the farmers market.  We roasted the beets to top a spinach salad and will saute the greens with some garlic and have with rice.  That left the stems.  I’d read a reference earlier in the week to pickled stems – but of course had not kept the article.  And the recipe was a little bit of this, a little bit of that type that didn’t really tell me how to do it.  So I faked it.

 

I'm not sure these look appetizing...

I'm not sure these look appetizing...

It’s making me thinking of a sci-fi movie, not in a good way.  I might have to try again.

Leave a Reply

