foraging for food – purslane

purslane

There is a great article in Mother Earth News this week about foraging for food.

I’d read about purslane  – a weed that has regained status as a foraged food – and had even bought it at a farmers market to try in a simple salad.  I found this tiny specimen as I was weeding my garden; not enough for a meal yet. 

So far I’ve found dandelion (who hasn’t?) and purslane. It’s funny what people can/will eat. 

But in the world of foraged food, I think I would prefer to find morels.  Or truffles.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on August 23, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Hey! I think this stuff is used a lot in Mexico. I’m pretty sure this is what I picked up at the farmer’s market, just because it was there were a few people talking about it (mothers cooking it up like spinach, etc.) and it just seemed interesting. It wasn’t. It’s not bad, just not as good as what I expect from all things Mexican.

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on August 23, 2009 at 5:07 pm

      I would have never thought of it for Mexican cooking – I’ll have to check the cookbooks. I didn’t find purslane particularly interesting or yummy either, and thought it was just me!
      Need to forage further for tasty recipes…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

