tomatopalooza is canceled this year

Back when I thought I would have tomatoes this year...

Back when I thought I would have tomatoes this year...

I gave up and admitted finally that my tomatoes had blight.  This morning it went from 8 foot giants (I only feed them coffee grounds and grass clippings!)

blurry but you get the idea - tall plants

blurry but you get the idea - tall plants

to an empty garden bed.

 empty garden

The jalapenos on the other hand are growing like gangbusters – haven’t figured out what to do with them yet…

jalepenos

4 responses to this post.

  1. Were you able to save any tomatoes? The plant in your photo doesn’t come close to the horror that used to be in my garden. Glad your peppers are doing really well!

    Reply

  2. Posted by hungryinhudsonny on August 24, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    The top halves of the plants looked great, but the bottom halves and the couple of riper tomatoes told the true story. I have maybe a dozen green tomatoes that I pulled off the plants and now have sitting on a tray on my porch, as you suggested. I do not have high hopes though. If any are decent next weekend I’ll try pickling or making into marmalade…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kelly on August 28, 2009 at 12:51 am

    get some of that yummy cheese and make jalapeno poppers. Or get some tomatilllos and make buckets of salsa verde. Or mmmmm Thai food. If flights get super cheap (free), I’ll come out there and help you eat them.

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on August 28, 2009 at 2:04 pm

      i love the idea of poppers – I haven’t made those in ages. Love the cheesy goodness with the pepper burn…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

