farmers’ market treasures

This is the small pile I came back with yesterday…  The organic strawberries from Red Oak Farm were on shortcake with Ronnybrook whipped cream inhaled last night, the organic beets and lettuce from the Farm at Miller’s Crossing will become a roasted beet salad for lunch today, the bok choy will be stir fried over sticky brown rice later this week, and I got the garlic scapes because they look cool.  Not sure what to do with them yet.

What I’m really excited about though is the polenta from Wild Hive Farm.  I’d heard about how they grind their own flour for their baked goods but haven’t managed to visit their store or cafe yet.  So, when I saw this at the cheese stand, I pounced.  Polenta from scratch topped with roasted veggies is one of my favorite meals at the moment – it might even be surpassing mashed potatoes.

I can’t believe I just said that.

Leave a Reply

