picking apples

Go now!  It’s that time!  While I’ve been trying to pack away some last plums that I think will make an excellent holiday gift, apple season has snuck up on me.  Apples are early this year – and best combined with a little leaf-peeping.  My aunt gave me an apple peeler/corer a couple of years ago that she said would change my life, and it is always a good time for change! I’m thinking about apple crumble/crisp/brown betty, tarte tatin, maybe an apple whiskey cake, applesauce…

Don Baker Farm has already closed for u-pick this season but Fix Bros. and LoveApple Farm are still open – or – check out NY Apple Country for a farm near you.  To find out all about apples, check out the City Cook.

If you prefer your apple in liquid form, I might suggest apple cider from a local vendor – or, even better –  Core Vodka, apple brandy or AppleJack.

Leave a Reply

