how’s your garden?

Waterlogged?

Is it me or does this tomato plant not  look so good?  So many questions, so few answers…  We were consulting with friends who live across the river and down, and they suggested (gasp), blight.   Argh.  I hope that’s not the case.

I hope this one grows up to be a big boy.

On a more hopeful note, I harvested my first garlic scapes ever!  I planted garlic last fall for the first time and sure enough, I got garlic scapes.  I love to make tons of garlic scape pesto and put it in the freezer for those mid-winter pizzas.

I’m obviously ignoring the fact that I’m freezing the pesto in plastic.  I haven’t cut out all bad habits.

The basil is looking good so far.  Will Chuck decimate it once again?  Stay tuned…

At the very least, I’ll be able to try out recipes calling for purslane – quite a nutritious weed that is rampant in my garden…

I go a little crazy when I  plant seeds and ignore all rules as to how far apart the seeds are supposed to be.  Now I’m thinning my little herblings and purslane and calling them microgreens.    Very nice on fried eggs on Sunday mornings.

Here’s hoping this is not the last missive from my backyard garden…

Leave a Reply

