hot enough for you?

The menu today is blueberries (picked this morning at Greig Farm) and vanilla ice cream. 

This is the easiest possible ice cream you could make, because it’s not a proper ice cream, more like a simple gelato.  I would have make it last night only I came home to find some guests had used the ice cream bowl in the freezer as an ice bowl which had melted into a solid rock – rendering the bowl useless last night.  My OH took me to Lick for dinner last night ( yes, dinner) before I had a true heat-induced meltdown.

Basic Vanilla Ice Cream

  • 1 cup whole milk, well chilled (I never have whole milk around, so I use what I have)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream, well chilled
  • 1-2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, to taste (I only use 1 teaspoon)

In a medium bowl, use a hand mixer or a whisk to combine the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved, about 1-2 minutes.  Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla to taste.  Turn ice cream machine on, pour mixture into freezer bowl through ingredient spout and let mix until thickened, about 25-30 minutes (longer in heat wave weather).

One response to this post.

  1. It’s definitely hot enough and your ice cream is a great way to cool down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

