national cookie day!

Yes, today (Sunday December 4th) is National Cookie Day.  Much thanks to a coworker who brought this to my attention. I always like to say that when I grow up I’m going to bake cookies for a living.

Are you compelled to bake some cookies?   –  Wait!  Why not?

For the best chocolate chip  cookies, try the Jacques Torres recipe.  You must think ahead – it requires cake and bread flours and bittersweet chocolate chips (semi-sweet will work if necessary) and time – it must rest in the fridge overnight.  Absolutely the best chocolate chip cookies.  Try it.  Trust me.

Are you an oatmeal cookie fiend?  I’ve always depended on the Quaker Vanishing Oatmeal cookie recipe.  I’m not a huge fan of raisins (weird childhood thing since mother wanted raisins in everything) so I always add dried cranberries instead.  And use the old fashioned oats.

How about peanut butter cookies?  These have always been part of my repertoire, because they were my dad’s absolute favorite cookie.  Betty Crocker was the ruling cookbook in our household growing up, so this is my favorite peanut butter cookie recipe.  Again, think ahead as this takes a couple hours of sitting in the fridge.  Also, instead of just dipping the fork in sugar, I like to roll the entire cookie ball in sugar and then make the cross marks with a fork.  And, if I’m really feeling fancy, I make just one fork imprint (not the hatch mark) and pipe melted dark chocolate into the tracks once the cookies are cool.  Again, trust me on this one.

I haven’t even begun to talk about Christmas cookies – snowballs, peppermint balls, decorated sugar cookies, gingerbread boys, pfeffernuesse…

Happy Cookie day!  Eat cookies!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Is it?! I miss out on these things all the time :(. Your cookies look really great!

    Reply

  2. love the idea of National Cookie Day. The hotel where I just stayed in the Dominican Republic, The Penisula House, served Jacques Torres chocolate chip as a good night snack. I’ve posted the recipe on my blog.

    Reply

  3. Shouldn’t every day be Cookie Day? Love the idea for adding chocolate to the peanut butter cookies. Any ideas for holiday cookies?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

