it’s been candy-making weather…

It’s dry and clear with humidity low enough to dehydrate us into prunes.

Yea.  So that maple fudge I was going to make?  It didn’t work so well.  However, I managed to catch it before it cooled into a solid maple rock in my pan.  Just barely.  I took the rapidly solidifying candy mass and flattened it out, then cut into little maple nuggets.  Not the most appetizing, but at least I didn’t have this (hilarious?) experience.  I took it to work and told the co-workers that I was not responsible for any lost fillings.  I got an empty Tupperware back.

I’ll have to go back to the drawing board on the maple syrup thing.  In the meantime I decided to go back to my old friends, butter and sugar.

I’ve had this recipe on one of my Pinterest boards from early on, and finally I couldn’t resist any longer.  It is butter, sugar, lots of stirring, a little vanilla, chocolate chips and toasted almonds.  Let it sit for hours (no touching!) then break into pieces.  Eat all small remaining shards in the name of presenting only evenly sized pieces (or keeping a clean kitchen, or whatever excuse you like…).

You can find the full recipe on theKitchn.

One response to this post.

  1. I had an unpleasant experience trying to make Cadbury’s Crunchie. It didn’t work. At all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

