food and drink doings

Tap New York is this weekend at Hunter Mountain.  I am sorely tempted to attend “New York’s largest craft beer festival” but then how would I ever stagger home???

Chronogram did an article on Hudson Valley Breweries, and I find I’ve only been to one of them: Brewery Ommegang.  But really, where is their mention of Crossroads Brewing Company or Chatham Brewing or Browns Brewing???  They are all delicious…

***

This weekend (meaning Saturday 4/27) check out the “Colossal Cookbook Sale” at the Library, from 10am – 2pm.  Here are my treasures:

cookbooks

Because I needed more cookbooks…  And just in case my to-read pile wasn’t big enough, I got my hands on the last copy at Tractor Supply of this beauty:

modern farmer

***

If you get a chance to eat out this weekend, note that 3FortySeven Warren Street is opening up (sans Tortillaville until May).  I can’t wait until BackBar becomes official…

taste of india

truck pizza***

Next weekend is a big food weekend here in Hudson NY.

farmers marketThe Hudson Farmers’ Market is back outdoors starting Saturday May 4th, 9am – 1pm at Columbia and North 6th Street.  It’s been great to watch it expand over the years – it makes me happy.

rampfest2013_logoThe 3rd Annual Ramp Fest Hudson happens at the Basilica on Saturday, May 4th, 12 – 4pm.  Get there early.  Remember that my loss (I’m out-of-town) is your gain (there will be more to eat).  Be nice to the photographer Smith.

verdigris

AND there will be a wine AND chocolate tasting at Verdigris.  In our town of yummy options, Verdigris is a haven filled with treats of all sorts.  The question for me -always- is where do I begin?

You have one week to build your endurance for this food-filled weekend!

***

crazy vanNow, can anyone tell me what this crazy van on North 6th Street is about???

***

I’m off for a couple of weeks to the land of palm trees and hummus.  No worries – I will continue to eat well…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Glenco Kate on April 27, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    I’v been told that that “Crazy(totally creative) Van” belongs to “Common Ground”–A group of young farmers offering CSA Shares. They are farming land across from the “Marilyn Monroe House”(another Story)on Rte 23(B) on the way to Claverack—-Looks cool!

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on April 27, 2013 at 5:11 pm

      Excellent – thanks for the update! The van belonging to farmers is somehow reassuring…

      Reply

  2. Hey all! The van is ours at Common Hands Farm! Everything else posted above is correct. our website: commonhandscsa.com

    Reply

  3. When you get back from eating hummus, and enjoying a vacation.. micosta has opened up. They have a variety of food in there deli as well as juice, ice cream and chocolates at there retail store. Come check it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

