Grazin’ Diner is open – a friendly burger

It’s a friendly burger.

I was crazy excited about Grazin’ Diner opening up (I really need to get out more, it seems).  Part of it is about having the cool looking diner on the park open again, part of it was about the sustainability of the ingredients, but mostly I think it’s because it’s a “regular” restaurant that is all about local sourcing.  Grazin’ does use a Vermont cheese, but it’s a good one (Consider Bardwell) and it’s just the next state over, right?

The menu is burgers and sandwiches for the most part (meat from Grazin’ Angus Acres, natch; buns from Hawthorne Valley Farm), which come with pickled veggies and lovely fries.  It’s a full-meal deal.  There are a few selections for vegetarians (a portobello burger, a grilled cheese, soup, a hearty salad). If you are still hungry, there are milkshakes (dairy from Milk Thistle Farm) and “grandma’s goodies” – a selection of simple cakes and cookies. The food looks plain and good and tastes clean and good.  The service is friendly, starting with Chip welcoming you at the door.  The diner itself?  Clean, simple and modern.  And in a nod to their ethics, there are no dying cut flowers, but little crocks of growing green grass.  I should put them in charge of my lawn.

They are open Thursdays – Saturdays for lunch and dinner.  On Sundays it’s brunch.  I heard our server explain to the next table over that they’re not serving breakfast during the week because they might run out of eggs.

  • Grazin’ Diner
  • 717 Warren Street
  • Thursdays – Sundays

This is supporting your local farmer.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations on the new business. Best of success.

    Reply

  2. Awesome – can’t wait to try the burger.

    Reply

  3. Great to have another wonderful restaurant in Hudson!

    Reply

  4. Posted by RD on October 6, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    had lunch there today. I really want to see this restaurant does well. It’s only been 4 days so I think a few kinks need to be worked out on the cooking. The Chili was very very thick, I could have eaten it with a fork and it was luck warm. Fry’s were good…a little salty and oily…that will get better I’m sure. The waitress forgot to put our order in (they were busy)after 30 minutes she remembered. Our bill had a $3.70 Rush Charge on it. (???) She said she couldn’t overide the computer so for us to take it off her tip. So,like I said…I do hope they do well.

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on October 7, 2011 at 7:17 am

      To be totally fair, it can take up to 6 months for any new restaurant to work out the kinks in the service, kitchen, menu, etc. There seems to be a tremendous amount of interest in the restaurant right out of the gate so perhaps they are a little overwhelmed. It would be much easier to have a quiet opening and slowly build the business…
      That said, hopefully you’ll be willing to try again???

      Reply

  5. Posted by Trish on October 7, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Grazin’ is good! Yes, there are some kinks, but considering they’ve only been open five days, it may take a little tweaking to get their five stars, but confident they will.

    No where can you get this kind of food unless you are growing it and cooking it yourself. Thanks for sharing your research and labor with our local community.

    Reply

  6. Posted by helen arrott on October 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    The place looks really nice ,as were all the people working there.My niece and her 2 friends were visiting and really wanted to go here.The 4 of us had 2 grilled cheese sand,the little cheese burger,and the biggest burger with egg and 3 cokes..$64.00 +18% tip
    the french fries were cold, as were the buns.The hamburger meat was very good
    and so was the the cheese.the ketchup was really good .but there wasn’t very much and they had run out of tomatoes.it was 5pm
    we didn’t want to complain ,as they just opened, and the owner was so nice and spoke to us so proudly and certainly what they are doing is highly comendable.but unfortunately, I can not afford to do that again.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lily on October 20, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I was hoping for a real diner diner, a place where you could get eggs sausage and toast at 8:30 am on a wednesday morning.It is all well and admirable to use local ingredients—-I try to do this as often as possible, but are they not serving coffee or oj? I sure don’t know of any coffee plantations or orange groves with 20 miles of Warren street. Not serving breakfast because they might run out of eggs? Come awn! Couldn’t the folks from Hawthorne Valley put a few dozen in the truck when they bring the bread?
    The burgers may be yummy—I’m sure they’re divine, but a diner this ain’t It’s another upscale spot that caters to weekenders.

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on October 20, 2011 at 7:40 pm

      Perhaps Bob’s Restuarant out on Fairview might be more your cup of tea. I’ve only gone there for grilled cheese but I bet they do breakfast. Call 518.822.9298 for hours.

      Reply

  8. Posted by Lily on October 24, 2011 at 11:08 am

    To Hungry in Hudson-
    You are mising my point. I was just hoping there would be a real diner-y diner in walking distance. I support the Farmer’s market and many Hudson restaurants. Sometimes on a weekday morning I just feel like that kind of experience, not a wonderful but expensive omelette at Le Gamine ( I would go there daily if I could). The diner in Millerton or the Blue Ben in Bennington were what I was thinking. Not Bob’s. That was a bit snippy, giving the phone number and all.

    Reply

    • Posted by hungryinhudsonny on October 24, 2011 at 6:10 pm

      I’m so sorry Lily – I definitely did not mean to seem snippy. I was only trying to provide another nearby option, and the phone number since I don’t know their hours! You know, one of my favorite places on Warren for breakfast is Tanzy’s – good basic breakfast, friendly service and the coffee keeps coming.

      Reply

  9. Park Falafel & Pizza also offers inexpensive breakfast options from 9:30 a.m. on. Our menu: http://parkfalafelandpizza.com/Menu.html

    Reply

  10. Hi There, didn’t realize you guys had reopened (featured the diner in this article). Will come by for a burger on my next Hudson Visit! http://villagegreenrealty.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/city-of-hudson-ny-real-estate-opportunity-missed/
    You’ve got big shoes to fill, my husband and I are addicted to Peekamoose Restaurant burgers (on the other side of the river) we’re looking for an East of the River burger!

    Reply

  11. […] in need of a decent cook and a good scrubbing (the diner has since become “Grazin” https://hungryinhudsonny.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/grazin-diner-is-open-line-up/ YUM!). That was the scene, it was a great place to get some antiques, but not a great place to do […]

    Reply

Leave a comment