and so it goes.

I wish this were my stairwell

I wish this were my stairwell

Summer has flown by.

The first TedxHudson is coming up Saturday September 27, and the guest of honor is no less than Alice Waters.  I swoon, and sob that I will not be able to attend.  Go, and listen to her for me.

I can’t believe I will miss this.

***

Isn’t it amazing how much food and eating have changed in Hudson, and Columbia County, in the past 5+ years?  The seeds of a food scene were always here, but our options have exploded.  Now we don’t just have several restaurants and a couple of local cheeses to call our own.  Instead, we have dozens of local products coming out each year, and people traveling to Hudson to eat (thank you, Bon Appetit) and Ruth Reichl shopping at the Hudson Farmers’ Market (and tweeting her loot).  I can’t keep up.  But I no longer have to – as we have Rural Intelligence talking about (upstate / Columbia County / Hudson) food practically every week, and Chronogram, and Susan Simon in the Register-Star, never mind the New York Times.

It is  not just in our little city that we have turned our focus on what we eat – some might argue that it is a societal change.  Every generation may be making the change for a different reason. I’ve discovered that I want to eat good food, and the more I learn, the more that I want to know where my food comes from. Except for those delicious strips of bacon.  I just want to eat bacon.

Hudson is a good place to live ( / visit / linger) but most importantly it is a great place to eat.

***

I am moving and will not be back to Hudson for a while.  And when I do come back for a visit, you know I will be busy eating.  This is my last post.

Please keep supporting all of our fantastic local producers.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I love your post ! 😉
    Follow me 🙂
    cookandfashion.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. I mostly live in NYC but have a little house near Olana. I’ve enjoyed your posts and wish you the best in your new endeavors .

    Reply

  3. Thanks for your blog. All best to you…

    Reply

  4. Loved these posts and hope you do the same in Tampa….Looking forward to your next adventures.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jill Berman on August 26, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks so much for your blog posts–I’ll miss them. Hope your move goes deliciously!

    Reply

Leave a comment